| Share

NCAA & NIT Tournament Teams

(In alphabetical order)

 Before TournsHead CoachFinal Record
Bowling Green22–3Harold Anderson22–4
Canisius15–5Allie Seelbach15–6
Catholic17–5John Long17–7
Dartmouth17–1Earl Brown19–2
DePaul20–3Ray Meyer22–4
Iowa St.13–3Lou Menze14–4
Kentucky17–1Adolph Rupp19–2
Missouri9–8George Edwards10–9
Muhlenberg19–5Doggie Julian19–6
Ohio St.13–6Harold Olsen14–7
Oklahoma A&M26–4Hank Iba27–6
Pepperdine21–11Wade Ruby21–13
St. John's15–5Joe Lapchick18–5
Temple13–8Josh Cody14–9
Utah18–3Vadal Peterson21–4
Note: St. John's won the NIT and Utah won the NCAAs. Utah also played in both tourneys.

Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

Major Conference Champions1944 College Basketball RecapNCAA Tournament (8 teams)

More on NCAA amp NIT Tournament Teams from Infoplease: