| Share

Major Conference Champions

Atlantic CoastNorth Carolina6–0
Big EightNebraska‡5–1–1
Big TenOhio St./Michigan7–1
Ivy LeagueDartmouth5–1–1
Mid-AmericanKent St.4–1
Missouri ValleyL'ville/Drake/W.Texas4–1
Pacific Coast AASan Diego St.4–0
Pacific-8Southern Cal7–0
SouthernEast Carolina7–0
Western AthleticArizona St.5–1
‡Oklahoma was 6–1 in the Big Eight, but after the season had to forfeit three wins for using an ineligible player.

Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

Bowl Games with Top 20 Teams1972 College Football RecapHeisman Trophy Voting

More on Major Conference Champions from Infoplease: