| Share

Major Conference Champions

Atlantic CoastClemson4–0–1
Big SevenOklahoma‡6–0
Big TenIowa5–1
Ivy LeagueYale7–0
Mid-AmericanBowling Green5–0–1
Missouri ValleyHouston4–0
Pacific CoastOregon St.6–1–1
SouthernWest Virginia5–0
SouthwestTexas A&M6–0
‡Oklahoma was ineligible for Big Seven berth in Orange Bowl because of “no repeat” rule.

Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

Bowl Games with Top 20 Teams1956 College Football RecapHeisman Trophy Voting

More on Major Conference Champions from Infoplease: