| Share

Major Conference Champions

Atlantic CoastMaryland/Duke4–0
Big SevenOklahoma6–0
Big TenOhio St.‡6–0
Ivy League*Princeton6–1
Mid-AmericanMiami, OH5–0
Missouri ValleyWichita/Detroit3–1
Pacific CoastUCLA6–0
SkylineColorado A&M6–1
SouthernWest Virginia4–0
*not a formal league until 1956
‡Ohio St. was ineligible for Big Ten berth in Rose Bowl because of “no repeat” rule.

Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

Bowl Games with Top 20 Teams1955 College Football RecapHeisman Trophy Voting

More on Major Conference Champions from Infoplease: