|  Share | Cite

Major Conference Champions

Atlantic CoastDuke4–0
Big SevenOklahoma‡6–0
Big TenOhio St.7–0
Ivy League*Yale/Cornell4–2
Mid-AmericanMiami, OH4–0
Missouri ValleyWichita4–0
Pacific CoastUCLA‡6–0
SouthernWest Virginia3–0
*not a formal league until 1956
‡Both Oklahoma (Orange Bowl) and UCLA (Rose Bowl) were ineligible for conference bowl game berths because of “no repeat” rules.

Bowl Games with Top 20 Teams1954 College Football RecapHeisman Trophy Voting

More on Major Conference Champions from Infoplease: