| Share

Major Conference Champions

Atlantic CoastDuke4–0
 and Maryland3–0
Big SevenOklahoma6–0
Big TenMich. St./Illinois5–1
Ivy League*Cornell3–1–2
Mid-AmericanOhio Univ.5–0–1
Missouri ValleyOklahoma A&M3–1
Pacific CoastUCLA6–1
SouthernWest Virginia4–0
*not a formal league until 1956

Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

Bowl Games with Top 20 Teams1953 College Football RecapHeisman Trophy Voting

More on Major Conference Champions from Infoplease:

24 X 7

Private Tutor

Click Here for Details
24 x 7 Tutor Availability
Unlimited Online Tutoring
1-on-1 Tutoring