| Share

Major Conference Champions

Big NineMichigan‡6–0
Big SevenOklahoma5–0
Ivy League*Cornell5–1
Mid-AmericanMiami, OH4–0
Missouri ValleyOklahoma A&M2–0
Pacific CoastCalifornia/Oregon6–0
*not a formal league until 1956
‡Michigan was ineligible for Big Nine berth in Rose Bowl because of “no repeat” rule.

Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

Bowl Games with Top 20 Teams1948 College Football RecapHeisman Trophy Voting

More on Major Conference Champions from Infoplease:

24 X 7

Private Tutor

Click Here for Details
24 x 7 Tutor Availability
Unlimited Online Tutoring
1-on-1 Tutoring