| Share

American League

Multiple champions: NY Yankees (10); Oakland (6); Baltimore (5); Boston (3); Cleveland, Kansas City, Minnesota and Toronto (2)..

Year Winner Manager Series Loser Manager
1969 E–Baltimore Earl Weaver 3-0 W–Minnesota Billy Martin
1970 E–Baltimore Earl Weaver 3-0 W–Minnesota Bill Rigney
1971 E–Baltimore Earl Weaver 3-0 W–Oakland Dick Williams
1972 W–Oakland Dick Williams 3-2 (WWLLW) E–Detroit Billy Martin
1973 W–Oakland Dick Williams 3-2 (LWWLW) E–Baltimore Earl Weaver
1974 W–Oakland Alvin Dark 3-1 (LWWW) E–Baltimore Earl Weaver
1975 E–Boston Darrell Johnson 3-0 W–Oakland Alvin Dark
1976 E–New York Billy Martin 3-2 (WLWLW) W–Kansas City Whitey Herzog
1977 E–New York Billy Martin 3-2 (LWLWW) W–Kansas City Whitey Herzog
1978 E–New York Bob Lemon 3-1 (WLWW) W–Kansas City Whitey Herzog
1979 E–Baltimore Earl Weaver 3-1 (WWLW) W–California Jim Fregosi
1980 W–Kansas City Jim Frey 3-0 E–New York Dick Howser
1981 E–New York Bob Lemon 3-0 W–Oakland Billy Martin
1982 E–Milwaukee Harvey Kuenn 3-2 (LLWWW) W–California Gene Mauch
1983 E–Baltimore Joe Altobelli 3-1 (LWWW) W–Chicago Tony La Russa
1984 E–Detroit Sparky Anderson 3-0 W–Kansas City Dick Howser
1985 W–Kansas City Dick Howser 4-3 (LLWLWWW) E–Toronto Bobby Cox
1986 E–Boston John McNamara 4-3 (LWLLWWW) W–California Gene Mauch
1987 W–Minnesota Tom Kelly 4-1 (WWLWW) E–Detroit Sparky Anderson
1988 W–Oakland Tony La Russa 4-0 E–Boston Joe Morgan
1989 W–Oakland Tony La Russa 4-1 (WWLWW) E–Toronto Cito Gaston
1990 W–Oakland Tony La Russa 4-0 E–Boston Joe Morgan
1991 W–Minnesota Tom Kelly 4-1 (WLWWW) E–Toronto Cito Gaston
1992 E–Toronto Cito Gaston 4-2 (LWWWLW) W–Oakland Tony La Russa
1993 E–Toronto Cito Gaston 4-2 (WWLLWW) W–Chicago Gene Lamont
1994 Not held     
1995 C–Cleveland Mike Hargrove 4-2 (LWLWWW) W–Seattle Lou Piniella
1996E–New YorkJoe Torre4-1 (WLWWW)WC–BaltimoreDavey Johnson
1997C–ClevelandMike Hargrove4-2 (LWWWLW)E–BaltimoreDavey Johnson
1998E–New YorkJoe Torre4-2 (WLLWWW)C–ClevelandMike Hargrove
1999E–New YorkJoe Torre4-1 (WWLWW)WC–BostonJimy Williams
2000E–New YorkJoe Torre4-2 (LWWWLW)WC–SeattleLou Piniella
2001E–New YorkJoe Torre4-1 (WWLWW)W–SeattleLou Piniella
2002WC–AnaheimMike Scioscia4-1 (LWWWW)C–MinnesotaRon Gardenhire
2003 E–New York Joe Torre 4-3 (LWWLWLW) WC–Boston Grady Little
2004 WC–Boston Terry Francona 4-3 (LLLWWWW) E–New York Joe Torre

ALCS Most Valuable Players

Winner who did not play for ALCS champions is in bold type.

Multiple winner: Dave Stewart (2).

1980 Frank White, KC, 2B
1981 Graig Nettles, NY, 3B
1982 Fred Lynn, Cal., OF
1983 Mike Boddicker, Bal., P
1984 Kirk Gibson, Det., OF
1985 George Brett, KC, 3B
1986 Marty Barrett, Bos., 2B
1987 Gary Gaetti, Min., 3B
1988 Dennis Eckersley, Oak., P
1989 Rickey Henderson, Oak., OF
1990 Dave Stewart, Oak., P
1991 Kirby Puckett, Min., OF
1992 Roberto Alomar, Tor., 2B
1993 Dave Stewart, Tor., P
1994 LCS not held.
1995 Orel Hershiser, Cle., P
1996Bernie Williams, NY, OF
1997Marquis Grissom, Cle., OF
1998David Wells, NY, P
1999Orlando Hernandez, NY, P
2000Dave Justice, NY, OF
2001Andy Pettitte, NY, P
2002Adam Kennedy, Ana., 2B
2003 Mariano Rivera, NY, P
2004David Ortiz, Bos., DH

Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

National LeagueLeague Championship Series

More on American League from Infoplease:

Premium Partner Content
HighBeam Research
Documents Images and Maps Reference
(from Newspapers, Magazines, Journals, Newswires, Transcripts and Books)

Research our extensive archive of more than 80 million articles from 6,500 publications.

Additional search results provided by HighBeam Research, LLC. © Copyright 2005. All rights reserved.

24 X 7

Private Tutor

Click Here for Details
24 x 7 Tutor Availability
Unlimited Online Tutoring
1-on-1 Tutoring