| Share

The N.L.–American Assn. Series, 1882–1890

When the National League met the American League for the first time in the 1903 World Series, it was not the N.L.'s first venture into post-season play. From 1882–90, the N.L. pennant winner engaged in a championship series with the champion of the American Association. The Nationals won four of the eight series, lost once, and tied three times.

Year Champion Loser Series
1882 Chicago (N.L.) & Cincinnati (A.A.) 1–1
1883 No series   
1884 Providence (N.L.) New York (A.A.) 3–0
1885 Chicago (N.L.) & St. Louis (A.A.) 3–3–1
1886 St. Louis (A.A.) Chicago (N.L.) 4–2
1887 Detroit (N.L.) St. Louis (A.A.) 10–5
1888 New York (N.L.) St. Louis (A.A.) 6–4
1889 New York (N.L.) Brooklyn (A.A.) 6–3
1890 Brooklyn (N.L.) & Louisville (A.A.) 3–3–1

Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

Before the World SeriesEarly N.L. and A.L. Pennant Winners

24 X 7

Private Tutor

Click Here for Details
24 x 7 Tutor Availability
Unlimited Online Tutoring
1-on-1 Tutoring