| Share

Figure Skating: World Champions

1960 Alain Giletti, France
1961 No competition
1962 Donald Jackson, Canada
1963 Don McPherson, Canada
1964 Manfred Schnelldorfer, West Germany
1965 Alain Calmat, France
1966–68 Emmerich Danzer, Austria
1969–70 Tim Wood, United States
1971–73 Ondrej Nepela, Czechoslovakia
1974 Jan Hoffman, East Germany
1975 Sergei Yolkov, USSR
1976 John Curry, Britain
1977 Vladimir Kovalev, USSR
1978 Charles Tickner, United States
1979 Vladimir Kovalev, USSR
1980 Jan Hoffman, East Germany
1981–84 Scott Hamilton, United States
1985 Alexandr Fadeev, USSR
1986 Brian Boitano, United States
1987 Brian Orser, Canada
1988 Brian Boitano, United States
1989–91 Kurt Browning, Canada
1992 Viktor Petrenko, Unified Team
1993 Kurt Browning, Canada
1994–95 Elvis Stojko, Canada
1996 Todd Eldredge, United States
1997Elvis Stojko, Canada
1998–2000Alexei Yagudin, Russia
2001Evgeni Plushenko, Russia
2002Alexei Yagudin, Russia
2003–04Evgeni Plushenko, Russia
2005–06Stephane Lambiel, Switzerland
1956–60 Carol Heiss, United States
1961 No competition
1962–64 Sjoukje Dijkstra, Netherlands
1965 Petra Burka, Canada
1966–68 Peggy Fleming, United States
1969–70 Gabriele Seyfert, East Germany
1971–72 Beatrix Schuba, Austria
1973 Karen Magnusson, Canada
1974 Christine Errath, East Germany
1975 Dianne de Leeuw, Netherlands
1976 Dorothy Hamill, United States
1977 Linda Fratianne, United States
1978 Anett Poetzsch, East Germany
1979 Linda Fratianne, United States
1980 Anett Poetzsch, East Germany
1981 Denise Beillmann, Switzerland
1982 Elaine Zayak, United States
1983 Rosalynn Sumners, United States
1984–85 Katarina Witt, East Germany
1986 Debi Thomas, United States
1987–88 Katarina Witt, East Germany
1989 Midori Ito, Japan
1990 Jill Trenary, United States
1991–92 Kristi Yamaguchi, United States
1993 Oksana Baiul, Ukraine
1994 Yuka Sato, Japan
1995 Chen Lu, China
1996 Michelle Kwan, United States
1997Tara Lipinski, United States
1998Michelle Kwan, United States
1999Maria Butyrskaya, Russia
2000–01Michelle Kwan, United States
2002Irina Slutskaya, Russia
2003Michelle Kwan, United States
2004Shizuka Arakawa, Japan
2005Irina Slutskaya, Russia
2006Kimmie Meissner, United States

Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

Figure SkatingFigure Skating: U.S. Champions

More on Figure Skating World Champions from Infoplease:

  • Figure Skating - Figure Skating World Championships at Nice, France (March 26-April 2) Men's —1. Alexei ...
  • Figure Skating - Figure Skating World Championships at Nagano, Japan (March 15-24) Men's —1. Alexei ...
  • Figure Skating - Figure Skating World Championships at Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada (March 19-25) Men's ...
  • Figure Skating - Figure Skating World Championships at Helsinki, Finland (March 21-28) Men's — 1. Alexei ...
  • Figure Skating - Figure Skating World Championships at Minneapolis, Minn. (March 29-April 5) Men's — 1. ...

Premium Partner Content
HighBeam Research
Documents Images and Maps Reference
(from Newspapers, Magazines, Journals, Newswires, Transcripts and Books)

Research our extensive archive of more than 80 million articles from 6,500 publications.

Additional search results provided by HighBeam Research, LLC. © Copyright 2005. All rights reserved.

24 X 7

Private Tutor

Click Here for Details
24 x 7 Tutor Availability
Unlimited Online Tutoring
1-on-1 Tutoring