| Share

National League

1953—Boston Braves move to Milwaukee; 1958—Brooklyn Dodgers move to Los Angeles and New York Giants move to San Francisco; 1965—Houston Colt .45s renamed Astros; 1966—Milwaukee Braves move to Atlanta .2004—Montreal Expos move to Washington, DC and become the Nationals.

Other nicknames: Boston (Beaneaters and Doves through 1908, and Bees from 1936-40); Brooklyn (Superbas through 1926, then Robins from 1927-31; then Dodgers from 1932-57); Cincinnati (Red Legs from 1944-45, then Redlegs from 1954-60, then Reds since 1961); Philadelphia (Blue Jays from 1943-44).

Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

City and Nickname ChangesAmerican League

More on National League from Infoplease:

Premium Partner Content
HighBeam Research
Documents Images and Maps Reference
(from Newspapers, Magazines, Journals, Newswires, Transcripts and Books)

Research our extensive archive of more than 80 million articles from 6,500 publications.

Additional search results provided by HighBeam Research, LLC. © Copyright 2005. All rights reserved.

24 X 7

Private Tutor

Click Here for Details
24 x 7 Tutor Availability
Unlimited Online Tutoring
1-on-1 Tutoring