Expansion Timetable (Since 1901)

1961—Los Angeles Angels (now Anaheim) and Washington Senators (now Texas Rangers) join AL; 1962—Houston Colt .45s (now Astros) and New York Mets join NL; 1969—Kansas City Royals and Seattle Pilots (now Milwaukee Brewers) join AL, while Montreal Expos and San Diego Padres join NL; 1977—Seattle Mariners and Toronto Blue Jays join AL; 1993—Colorado Rockies and Florida Marlins join NL; 1998—Arizona Diamondbacks join NL and Tampa Bay Devil Rays join AL.

The Growth of Major League BaseballCity and Nickname Changes