African Player of the Year

Officially, the African “Ballon d'Or” and presented by France Football magazine from 1970-96. The Arican Player of the Year award has been presented by the CAF (African Football Confederation) since 1997. All African players are eligible for the award.

Multiple winners: George Weah and Abedi Pelé (3); El Hadji Diouf, Nwankwo Kanu, Roger Milla and Thomas N’Kono (2).

1970 Salif Keita, Mali
1971 Ibrahim Sunday, Ghana
1972 Cherif Souleymane, Guinea
1973 Tshimimu Bwanga, Zaire
1974 Paul Moukila, Congo
1975 Ahmed Faras, Morocco
1976 Roger Milla, Cameroon
1977 Dhiab Tarak, Tunisia
1978 Abdul Razak, Ghana
1979 Thomas N'Kono, Cameroon
1980 Jean Manga Onguene, Cameroon
1981 Lakhdar Belloumi, Algeria
1982 Thomas N'Kono, Cameroon
1983 Mahmoud Al-Khatib, Egypt
1984 Theophile Abega, Cameroon
1985 Mohamed Timoumi, Morocco
1986 Badou Zaki, Morocco
1987 Rabah Madjer, Algeria
1988 Kalusha Bwalya, Zambia
1989 George Weah, Liberia
1990 Roger Milla, Cameroon
1991 Abedi Pelé, Ghana
1992 Abedi Pelé, Ghana
1993 Abedi Pelé, Ghana
1994 George Weah, Liberia
1995George Weah, Liberia
1996Nwankwo Kanu, Nigeria
1997Victor Ikpeba, Nigeria
1998Mustapha Hadji, Morocco
1999Nwankwo Kanu, Nigeria
2000Patrick Mboma, Cameroon
2001El Hadji Diouf, Senegal
2002El Hadji Diouf, Senegal
2003 Samuel Eto’o Fils, Cameroon

South American Player of the YearAnnual AwardsAsian Player of the Year