| Share

Current Champions

WBA, WBC and IBF Titleholders (through Oct. 1, 1997)

The champions of professional boxing's 17 principal weight divisions, as recognized by the Word Boxing Association (WBA), World Boxing Council (WBC) and International Boxing Federation (IBF).

 Weight LimitWBA ChampionWBC ChampionIBF Champion
Heavyweight ---Evander HolyfieldLennox LewisMichael Moorer
 34-3-0, 24 KOs31-1-0, 25 KOs39-1-0, 31 KOs
Cruiserweight190 lbsNate MillerMarcelo DominguezUriah Grant
 30-4-0, 26 KOs22-1-1, 12 KOs26-12-0, 24 KOs
Light Heavyweight175 lbsLou Del ValleRoy Jones Jr.William Guthrie
 27-1-0, 19 KOs35-1-0, 30 KOs24-0-0, 21 KOs
Super Middleweight168 lbsFrank LilesRobin ReidCharles Brewer
 31-1-0, 19 KOs25-0-1 18 KOs29-5-0, 20 KOs
Middleweight160 lbsJulio Cesar GreenKeith HolmesBernard Hopkins
 22-2-0, 16 KOs29-1-0, 19 KOs32-2-1, 25 KOs
Jr. Middleweight154 lbsLaurent BoudouaniTerry NorrisRaul Marquez
 35-2-0, 31 KOs47-6-0, 31 KOs28-0-0, 20 KOs
Welterweight147 lbsIke QuarteyOscar De La HoyaFelix Trinidad
 34-0-0, 29 KOs26-0-0, 21 KOs32-0-0, 28 KOs
Jr. Welterweight140 lbsKhalid RahilouVacantVince Phillips
 30-2-0, 16 KOs 37-3-1, 26 KOs
Lightweight135 lbsOrzubek NazarovSteve JohnstonShane Mosley
 24-0-0, 18 KOs23-0-0, 13 KOs24-0-0, 22 KOs
Jr. Lightweight130 lbsChoi Yong-SooGenaro HernandezArturo Gatti
 23-2-0, 13 KOs36-1-1, 17 KOs28-1-0, 23 KOs
Featherweight126 lbsWilfredo VasquezLuisito EspinozaVacant
 49-7-3, 37 KOs41-7-0, 21 KOs 
Jr. Featherweight122 lbsAntonio CermenoErik MoralesVuyani Bungu
 28-1-0, 17 KOs27-0-0, 21 KOs32-2-0, 18 KOs
Bantamweight118 lbsNana Yaw KonaduSirimongkol SingmanassakTim Austin
 37-3-1, 29 KOs16-0-0, 6 KOs16-0-1, 15 KOs
Jr. Bantamweight115 lbsYokthai Sith OarGerry PenalosaJohnny Tapia
 14-0-1, 8 KOs38-1-1, 23 KOs41-0-2, 24 KOs
Flyweight112 lbsJose BonillaCatchai Sasakul*Marc Johnson
 23-3-0, 11 KOs30-1-0, 23 KOs33-1-0, 24 KOs
Jr. Flyweight108 lbsPhichitnoi C. SiriwatSaman Sor JaturongVacant
 17-1-0, 11 KOs35-2-1, 28 KOs 
Minimumweight105 lbsRosendo AlvarezRicardo LopezRatan Voraphin
 24-0-0, 16 KOs46-0-0, 36 KOs33-2-1, 26 KOs
Note: the following weight divisions are also known by these names—Cruiserweight as Jr. Heavyweight; Jr. Middleweight as Super Welterweight; Jr. Welterweight as Super Lightweight; Jr. Lightweight as Super Featherweight; Jr. Featherweight as Super Bantamweight; Jr. Bantamweight as Super Flyweight; Jr. Flyweight as Light Flyweight; and Minimum as Strawweight.
*Sasakul is the “interim” champion. The WBC sanctioned a bout for the interim championship because their regular flyweight champion, Yuri Arbachakov, had been sidelined with a broken wrist since August of 1996. The two will fight for the WBC flyweight belt when Arbachakov is back in action.

Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

Bite Night1996–97 SeasonMajor Bouts, 1996-97

Premium Partner Content
HighBeam Research
Documents Images and Maps Reference
(from Newspapers, Magazines, Journals, Newswires, Transcripts and Books)

Research our extensive archive of more than 80 million articles from 6,500 publications.

Additional search results provided by HighBeam Research, LLC. © Copyright 2005. All rights reserved.

24 X 7

Private Tutor

Click Here for Details
24 x 7 Tutor Availability
Unlimited Online Tutoring
1-on-1 Tutoring