|  Share | Cite

Number One Draft Choices

Overall first choices in the NHL draft since the league staged its first universal amateur draft in 1969. Players are listed with team that selected them; those who became Rookie of the Year are in bold type.

1969 Rejean Houle, Mon., LW
1970 Gilbert Perreault, Buf., C
1971 Guy Lafleur, Mon., RW
1972 Billy Harris, NYI, RW
1973 Denis Potvin, NYI, D
1974 Greg Joly, Wash., D
1975 Mel Bridgman, Phi., C
1976 Rick Green, Wash., D
1977 Dale McCourt, Det., C
1978 Bobby Smith, Min., C
1979 Rob Ramage, Colo., D
1980 Doug Wickenheiser, Mon., C
1981 Dale Hawerchuk, Win., C
1982 Gord Kluzak, Bos., D
1983 Brian Lawton, Min., C
1984 Mario Lemieux, Pit., C
1985 Wendel Clark, Tor., LW/D
1986 Joe Murphy, Det., C
1987 Pierre Turgeon, Buf., C
1988 Mike Modano, Min., C
1989 Mats Sundin, Que., RW
1990 Owen Nolan, Que., RW
1991 Eric Lindros, Que., C
1992 Roman Hamrlik, TB, D
1993 Alexandre Daigle, Ott., C
1994 Ed Jovanovski, Fla., D
1995 Bryan Berard, Ott., D
1996Chris Phillips, Ott., D
1997Joe Thornton, Bos., C
1998Vincent Lecavalier, TB, C
1999Patrik Stefan, Atl., C
2000Rick DiPietro, NYI, G
2001Ilya Kovalchuk, Atl., RW
2002Rick Nash, Clb., LW
2003 Marc-Andre Fleury, Pit., G
2004 Alexander Ovechkin, Wash., LW

Annual AwardsThrough The YearsWorld Hockey Association