| Share

Expansion/Merger Timetable

For teams currently in NHL.

1919—Quebec Bulldogs finally take the ice after sitting out NHL's first two seasons; 1924—Boston Bruins and Montreal Maroons; 1925–New York Americans and Pittsburgh Pirates; 1926—Chicago Black Hawks (now Blackhawks), Detroit Cougars (now Red Wings) and New York Rangers; 1932—Ottawa Senators return after sitting out 1931-32 season.

1967—California-Oakland Seals (later Cleveland Barons), Los Angeles Kings, Minnesota North Stars, Philadelphia Flyers, Pittsburgh Penguins and St. Louis Blues.

1970—Buffalo Sabres and Vancouver Canucks; 1972—Atlanta Flames (now Calgary) and New York Islanders; 1974—Kansas City Scouts (now New Jersey Devils) and Washington Capitals; 1978—Cleveland Barons merge with Minnesota North Stars (now Dallas Stars) and team remains in Minnesota; 1979—added WHA's Edmonton Oilers, Hartford Whalers (now Carolina Hurricanes), Quebec Nordiques (now Colorado Avalanche) and Winnipeg Jets (now Phoenix Coyotes).

1991—San Jose Sharks; 1992—Ottawa Senators and Tampa Bay Lightning; 1993—Mighty Ducks of Anaheim and Florida Panthers; 1998—Nashville Predators; 1999—Atlanta Thrashers.

2000—Columbus Blue Jackets and Minnesota Wild.

Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

The Growth of the NHLCity and Nickname Changes

Premium Partner Content
HighBeam Research
Documents Images and Maps Reference
(from Newspapers, Magazines, Journals, Newswires, Transcripts and Books)

Research our extensive archive of more than 80 million articles from 6,500 publications.

Additional search results provided by HighBeam Research, LLC. © Copyright 2005. All rights reserved.

24 X 7

Private Tutor

Click Here for Details
24 x 7 Tutor Availability
Unlimited Online Tutoring
1-on-1 Tutoring