|  Share | Cite

NCAA Division I Tournament

Regional Seeds

 West East
1Michigan (34-3-4)1Clarkson (27-9-0)
2North Dakota (28-10-2)2Boston U. (24-8-6)
3Miami-OH (27-11-1)3Vermont (22-10-3)
4Minnesota (27-12-1)4New Hampshire (28-10-0)
5Michigan St. (23-12-4)5Colorado Col. (23-14-4)
6Cornell (20-8-5)6Denver (23-12-4)

West Regional

Held at Van Andel Arena in Grand Rapids, Mich., March 22-23. Single elimination, two second round winners advance to Final Four.

First Round

Cornell 4Miami-OH 2
Minnesota 6Michigan St. 3
(Byes: Michigan and North Dakota)

Second Round

North Dakota 6Cornell 2
Michigan 7Minnesota 4
(North Dakota and Michigan advance)

East Regional

Held at The Centrum in Worcester, Mass., March 21-22. Single elimination, two second round winners advance to Final Four.

First Round

Colorado College 3New Hampshire 2
Denver 6Vermont 3
(Byes: Clarkson and Boston University)

Second Round

Colorado College 5 Clarkson 4
Boston University 4OTDenver 3
(Colorado College and Boston University advance)

The Final Four

At the Bradley Center in Milwaukee, Wis., March 27 and March 29. Single elimination; no consolation game.


North Dakota 6Colorado College 2
Boston University 3Michigan 2


North Dakota 6Boston University 4
Final records: North Dakota (31-10-2); Boston University (26-9-6); Colorado College (25-15-4); Michigan (35-4-4).
Outstanding Player: Matt Henderson, North Dakota junior forward; SEMIFINAL— 1 goal, 1 assist; FINAL— 2 goals, 1 assist.
All-Tournament Team: Henderson, forward Dave Hoogsteen, defenseman Curtis Murphy and goaltender Aaron Schweitzer of North Dakota; forward Chris Drury and defenseman Tom Poti of Boston University.

Championship Game

North Dakota, 6-4

Saturday, March 29, 1997, at the Bradley Center in Milwaukee, Wis.; Attendance: 17,537; TV Rating: 0.7/2 share (ESPN).

Boston University (HEA)2114
North Dakota (WCHA)0516


1st Period: BU— Peter Donatelli (Tom Poti), 8:44; BU— Chris Drury (Poti, Albie O'Connell), 15:08 (pp).

2nd Period: ND— Curtis Murphy (Jay Panzer, Matt Henderson), 7:06; ND— David Hoogsteen (unassisted), 8:38; ND— Henderson (unassisted), 12:35 (sh); BU— Chris Kelleher (unassisted), 13:56 (pp); ND— Henderson (Adam Calder, Dane Litke), 15:49 (pp); ND— Hoogsteen (Murphy), 19:54.

3rd Period: BU— Jon Coleman (Kelleher, Mike Sylvia), 19:24; ND— Calder (unassisted), 19:47 (en).


Saves: BU— Michel Larocque (29 shots/24 saves); ND— Aaron Schweitzer (29 shots/25 saves).

U.S. Division I College Hockey1996-97 SeasonHobey Baker Award

More on NCAA Division I Tournament from Infoplease: