|  Share | Cite

Harold Robbins

(aka Francis Kane, Harold Rubin)
Born: 5/21/1916
Birthplace: New York City

An orphan who never discovered the identity of his parents, Robbins was a prolific though critically under-appreciated author. All told, his books sold more than 50 million copies; they involved complex plots focused on the jet set and their financial and sexual hijinks. His titles include Never Love a Stranger (1948), The Carpetbaggers (1961), The Betsy (1971), and Dreams Die First (1977). Before turning to writing, Robbins had worked for Universal Pictures (1940–57), beginning as a clerk and rising to executive director of budgets and planning.

Died: 10/14/1997

Jason RobardsRJerome Robbins

More on Harold Robbins from Infoplease:

  • Harold Robbins - Harold Robbins Age: 81 writer Robbins is known for his best-selling, steamy novels that revolved ...
  • Harold Robbins - Biography of Harold Robbins, The author of The Betsy
  • Where Love Has Gone - Starring Susan Hayward, Bette Davis, Mike Connors, Jane Greer, DeForest Kelley
  • The Lonely Lady (1983) - Starring Pia Zadora, Lloyd Bochner, Bibi Besch, Joseph Cali, Anthony Holland
  • 1997 Deaths - 1997 Deaths Ewart Abner Cal Abrams Kathy Acker Bobby Adams Dr. Kurt Alfred Adler John Akii-Bua ...