| Share

U.S. Symphony Orchestras and Their Music Directors

  • Akron Symphony Orchestra: Ya-Hui Wang
  • Alabama Symphony Orchestra: Christopher Confessore1
  • American Composers Orchestra: Steven Sloane
  • American Symphony Orchestra: Leon Botstein
  • Arkansas Symphony Orchestra: David Itkin
  • Aspen Chamber Symphony: David Zinman
  • Atlanta Symphony Orchestra: Robert Spano
  • Austin Symphony Orchestra: Peter Bay
  • Baltimore Symphony Orchestra: Yuri Temirkanov
  • Baton Rouge Symphony: Timothy Muffitt
  • Boston Philharmonic: Benjamin Zander
  • Boston Pops: Keith Lockhart
  • Boston Symphony Orchestra: James Levine
  • Boulder Philharmonic Orchestra: Theodore Kuchar
  • Brooklyn Philharmonic: Robert Spano
  • Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra: JoAnn Falletta
  • Cedar Rapids Symphony: Christian Tiemeyer
  • Charleston Symphony Orchestra: David Stahl
  • Charlotte Symphony: Christof Perick
  • Chattanooga Symphony & Opera: Robert Bernhardt
  • Chicago Sinfonietta: Paul Freeman
  • Chicago Symphony Orchestra: Daniel Barenboim
  • Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra: Paavo Järvi
  • Cleveland Orchestra: Franz Welser-Möst
  • Columbus Symphony Orchestra: Junichi Hirokami
  • Dallas Symphony Orchestra: Andrew Litton
  • Dayton Philharmonic Orchestra: Neal Gittleman
  • Delaware Symphony Orchestra: David Amado
  • Des Moines Symphony: Joseph Giunta
  • Detroit Symphony Orchestra: Neeme Järvi
  • Elgin Symphony Orchestra: Robert Hanson
  • El Paso Symphony Orchestra: Gürer Aykal
  • Erie Philharmonic: Hugh Keelan
  • Evansville Philharmonic Orchestra: Alfred Savia
  • Florida Orchestra: Stefan Sanderling
  • Florida West Coast Symphony: Leif Bjaland1, 2
  • Fort Wayne Philharmonic: Edvard Tchivzhel
  • Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra: Miguel Harth-Bedoya
  • Fresno Philharmonic Orchestra: Theodore Kuchar
  • Grand Rapids Symphony: David Lockington
  • Grant Park Orchestra (Chicago): Carlos Kalmar1
  • Greensboro Symphony Orchestra: Dmitry Sitkovetsky
  • Greenville Symphony Orchestra: Edvard Tchivzhel
  • Handel & Haydn Society (Boston): Grant Llewellyn
  • Harrisburg Symphony Orchestra: Stuart Malina
  • Hartford Symphony Orchestra: Edward Cumming
  • Honolulu Symphony Orchestra: Samuel Wong
  • Houston Symphony: Hans Graf
  • Indianapolis Symphony: Mario Venzago
  • Jacksonville Symphony Orchestra: Fabio Mechetti
  • Kalamazoo Symphony Orchestra: Raymond Harvey
  • Kansas City Symphony: Michael Stern
  • Kennedy Center Opera House Orchestra: Heinz Fricke
  • Knoxville Symphony Orchestra: Lucas Richman
  • Little Orchestra Society of New York: Dino Anagnost
  • Long Beach Symphony Orchestra: Enrique Arturo Diemecke
  • Long Island Philharmonic: David Wiley
  • Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra: Jeffrey Kahane
  • Los Angeles Philharmonic: Esa-Pekka Salonen
  • Louisiana Philharmonic Orchestra: Klauspeter Seibel
  • Louisville Orchestra: Uriel Segal
  • Madison Symphony Orchestra: John DeMain
  • Memphis Symphony Orchestra: David Loebel
  • Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra: Andreas Delfs
  • Minnesota Orchestra: Osmo Vänskä
  • Mississippi Symphony Orchestra: Crafton Beck
  • Monterey Symphony: Max Bragado-Darman
  • Music of the Baroque (Chicago): Jane Glover
  • Naples Philharmonic Orchestra: Jorge Mester
  • Nashville Symphony: Kenneth Schermerhorn
  • National Symphony (DC): Leonard Slatkin
  • New Haven Symphony Orchestra: Jung-Ho Pak
  • New Jersey Symphony Orchestra: Neeme Järvi
  • New Mexico Symphony Orchestra: Guillermo Figueroa
  • New West Symphony: Boris Brott
  • New World Symphony (Fla.): Michael Tilson Thomas2
  • New York Philharmonic: Lorin Maazel
  • New York Pops: Skitch Henderson
  • North Carolina Symphony: Grant Llewellyn
  • Northeastern Pennsylvania Philharmonic: Lawrence Loh
  • Oklahoma City Philharmonic: Joel Levine
  • Omaha Symphony: Victor Yampolsky
  • Omaha Symphony Chamber Orchestra: Victor
  • Oregon Symphony: Carlos Kalmar
  • Pacific Symphony Orchestra (Calif.): Carl St. Clair
  • Palm Beach Pops: Bob Lappin
  • Philadelphia Orchestra: Christoph Eschenbach
  • Philharmonia Baroque Orchestra: Nicholas McGegan
  • Phoenix Symphony: Hermann Michael
  • Pittsburgh Symphony: Mariss Jansons
  • Portland Symphony Orchestra: Toshiyuki Shimada
  • Quad City Symphony Orchestra: Donald Schleicher
  • Rhode Island Philharmonic: Larry Rachleff
  • Richmond Symphony: Mark Russell Smith
  • River City Brass Band: Denis Colwell
  • Rochester Philharmonic Orchestra: Christopher Seaman
  • St. Louis Symphony Orchestra: David Robertson
  • St. Paul Chamber Orchestra: Andreas Delfs
  • San Antonio Symphony: Larry Rachleff
  • San Francisco Symphony: Michael Tilson Thomas
  • Santa Barbara Symphony Orchestra: Gisèle Ben-Dor
  • Santa Rosa Symphony: Jeffrey Kahane
  • Seattle Symphony: Gerard Schwarz
  • Shreveport Symphony: Kermit Poling
  • Spokane Symphony: Eckart Preu
  • Springfield Symphony (Mass.): Kevin Rhodes
  • Stamford Symphony Orchestra: Roger Nierenberg
  • Syracuse Symphony Orchestra: Daniel Hege
  • Toledo Symphony: Stefan Sanderling1
  • Tucson Symphony Orchestra: George Hanson
  • Utah Symphony: Keith Lockhart
  • Virginia Symphony: JoAnn Falletta
  • Westchester Philharmonic: Paul Lustig Dunkel
  • West Virginia Symphony Orchestra: Grant Cooper1, 2
  • Wichita Symphony: Andrew Sewell
  • Winston-Salem Symphony: Robert Moody
  • Youngstown Symphony Orchestra: Isaiah Jackson
NOTE: Symphony orchestras listed above report an annual budget of at least $2.5 million.
1. Principal Conductor.
2. Artistic Director.

Information Please® Database, © 2012 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

Music TimelineMusic

Premium Partner Content
HighBeam Research
Documents Images and Maps Reference
(from Newspapers, Magazines, Journals, Newswires, Transcripts and Books)

Research our extensive archive of more than 80 million articles from 6,500 publications.

Additional search results provided by HighBeam Research, LLC. © Copyright 2005. All rights reserved.

24 X 7

Private Tutor

Click Here for Details
24 x 7 Tutor Availability
Unlimited Online Tutoring
1-on-1 Tutoring