2003 Nobel Prize Winners

  • Peace: Shirin Ebadi (Iran), for her work as a human rights activist and lawyer.
  • Literature: J. M. Coetzee (South Africa).
  • Physics: Alexei A. Abrikosov (Russia, U.S.), Anthony J. Leggett (UK, U.S.), and Vitaly L. Ginzburg (Russia), for theories about superconductivity.
  • Chemistry: Peter Agre and Roderick MacKinnon (both U.S.) for studies on channels in cell walls.
  • Medicine: Paul C. Lauterbur (U.S.) and Sir Peter Mansfield (UK) for discoveries leading to magnetic resonance imaging (MRI).
  • Economics: Robert F. Engle (U.S.) and Clive W. J. Granger (UK), for developing statistical tools to improve analysis of stock prices and other data.

2004 Nobel Prize WinnersNobel Prizes2002 Nobel Prize Winners