| Share

2001 Independent Spirit Awards

The 17th Independent Spirit Awards, honoring excellence in independent film, took place on March 23, 2002 on Santa Monica beach.

First Feature (More Than $500,000)Todd Field, In the Bedroom
First Feature (Less Than $500,000)Michael Polish, Jackpot
Male LeadTom Wilkinson, In the Bedroom
Female LeadSissy Spacek, In the Bedroom
Supporting MaleSteve Buscemi, Ghost World
Supporting FemaleCarrie-Anne Moss, Memento
Debut PerformancePaul Franklin Dano, L.I.E.
DirectorChristopher Nolan, Memento
ScreenplayChristopher Nolan, Memento
First ScreenplayDaniel Clowes and Terry Zwigoff, Ghost World
CinematographyPeter Deming, Mulholland Drive
Foreign FilmJean-Pierre Jeunet, Amélie (France)
DocumentaryStacy Peralta, Dogtown and Z-Boys
Turning Leaf Coastal Reserve Someone to Watch AwardDebra Eisenstadt, Daydream Believer
Motorola Producers AwardRené Bastian and Linda Moran, Martin and Orloff and L.I.E.
DirectTV/IFC Truer Than Fiction AwardMonteith McCollum, Hybrid

Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

2002 Independent Spirit AwardsIndependent Spirit Awards2000 Independent Spirit Awards

Premium Partner Content
HighBeam Research
Documents Images and Maps Reference
(from Newspapers, Magazines, Journals, Newswires, Transcripts and Books)

Research our extensive archive of more than 80 million articles from 6,500 publications.

Additional search results provided by HighBeam Research, LLC. © Copyright 2005. All rights reserved.

24 X 7

Private Tutor

Click Here for Details
24 x 7 Tutor Availability
Unlimited Online Tutoring
1-on-1 Tutoring