| Share

Iraq: Rulers

KingsFaisal I (1921–1933)
Ghazi I (1933–1939)
Faisal II (1939–1958)
Abd al-Ilah, regent (1939–1941, 1941–1953)
Sharaf ibn Rajih al-Fawwaz, regent (1941)
Chairman of the Sovereignty CouncilMuhammad Najib ar-Ruba`i
PresidentsAbd as-Salam `Arif (1963–1966)
Abd ar-Rahman al-Bazzaz (!966)
Abd ar-Rahman `Arif (1966–1968)
Ahmad Hassan al-Bakr (1968–1979)
Saddam Hussein (1979–2003

Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

More on Iraq Rulers from Infoplease:

Premium Partner Content
HighBeam Research
Documents Images and Maps Reference
(from Newspapers, Magazines, Journals, Newswires, Transcripts and Books)

Research our extensive archive of more than 80 million articles from 6,500 publications.

Additional search results provided by HighBeam Research, LLC. © Copyright 2005. All rights reserved.

24 X 7

Private Tutor

Click Here for Details
24 x 7 Tutor Availability
Unlimited Online Tutoring
1-on-1 Tutoring