| Share

Powers Denied the Government

Learn what the national and state governments are not allowed to do in the United States.

Source: The U.S. Government Printing Office
National Government State Governments

* May not violate the Bill of Rights
* May not impose export taxes among states
* May not use money from the Treasury without the passage and approval of an appropriations bill
* May not change state boundaries

* May not enter into treaties with other countries
* May not print money
* May not tax imports or exports
* May not impair obligations of contracts
* May not suspend a person's rights without due process

In addition, neither the national government nor state governments may:

  • Grant titles of nobility
  • Permit slavery (13th Amendment)
  • Deny citizens the right to vote due to race, color, or previous servitude (15th Amendment)
  • Deny citizens the right to vote because of gender (19th Amendment)

Information Please® Database, © 2012 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

Powers of the GovernmentU.S. GovernmentHow a Bill Becomes a Law

More on Powers Denied the Government from Infoplease:

Premium Partner Content
HighBeam Research
Documents Images and Maps Reference
(from Newspapers, Magazines, Journals, Newswires, Transcripts and Books)

Research our extensive archive of more than 80 million articles from 6,500 publications.

Additional search results provided by HighBeam Research, LLC. © Copyright 2005. All rights reserved.

24 X 7

Private Tutor

Click Here for Details
24 x 7 Tutor Availability
Unlimited Online Tutoring
1-on-1 Tutoring