| Share

Major diagnostic classes of mental disorders

The standard manual used for diagnosis of mental disorders in the United States, the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-IV), organizes mental disorders into 16 major diagnostic classes:

  • Delirium, dementia, and amnestic and other cognitive disorders
  • Mental disorders due to a general medical condition
  • Substance-related disorders
  • Schizophrenia and other psychotic disorders
  • Mood disorders
  • Anxiety disorders
  • Somatoform disorders
  • Factitious disorders
  • Dissociative disorders
  • Sexual and gender identity disorders
  • Eating disorders
  • Sleep disorders
  • Impulse-control disorders
  • Adjustment disorders
  • Personality disorders
  • Disorders of childhood and adolescence

Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

Other SymptomsOverview of Mental Illness

24 X 7

Private Tutor

Click Here for Details
24 x 7 Tutor Availability
Unlimited Online Tutoring
1-on-1 Tutoring