| Share

Territories, Colonies, and Dependencies

Source: The World Factbook, 2005

The following is a list of dependencies—territories under the jurisdiction of another country.

Under Australian Jurisdiction (6)

  • Ashmore and Cartier Islands
  • Christmas Island
  • Cocos (Keeling) Islands
  • Coral Sea Islands
  • Heard Island and McDonald Islands
  • Norfolk Island

Under Danish Jurisdiction (2)

Under Dutch Jurisdiction (2)

Under French Jurisdiction (16)

Under New Zealand Jurisdiction (3)

  • Cook Islands
  • Niue
  • Tokelau

Under Norwegian Jurisdiction (3)

  • Bouvet Island
  • Jan Mayen
  • Svalbard

Under UK Jurisdiction (15)

Under U.S. Jurisdiction (14)

  •  Disputed Territories (6): Antarctica, Bajo Nuevo Bank (Petrel Islands), Gaza Strip, Paracel Islands, Serranilla Bank, Spratly Islands, West Bank, Western Sahara

Information Please® Database, © 2013 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

Political Statistics

More on Colonies and Dependencies Territories from Infoplease:

Premium Partner Content
HighBeam Research
Documents Images and Maps Reference
(from Newspapers, Magazines, Journals, Newswires, Transcripts and Books)

Research our extensive archive of more than 80 million articles from 6,500 publications.

Additional search results provided by HighBeam Research, LLC. © Copyright 2005. All rights reserved.

24 X 7

Private Tutor

Click Here for Details
24 x 7 Tutor Availability
Unlimited Online Tutoring
1-on-1 Tutoring