|  Share | Cite

French Territorial Collectivities

Saint Pierre and Miquelon


The Territorial Collectivity status was created in 1976 for Mayotte; it was conceived as being midway between an Overseas Territory and an Overseas Department.

A Territorial Collectivity is represented in the French National Assembly by a deputy and in the French Senate by a senator. The head of government, the prefect, is appointed by the French government.

Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

French Overseas TerritoriesFranceFrench Possessions

More on French Territorial Collectivities from Infoplease:

  • France - Map of France & articles on flags, geography, history, statistics, disasters current events, and international relations.
  • Saint Pierre and Miquelon - Saint Pierre and Miquelon Saint Pierre and Miquelon , French territorial collectivity (2005 est. ...
  • France: Geography, History, Politics, and More - Information on France — map of France, geography, history, politics, government, economy, population statistics, culture, religion, languages, largest cities, and the national flag.