|  Share | Cite

Principal Types of Volcanoes

Source: U.S. Dept. of the Interior, Geological Survey

Cinder Cones

Composite Volcanoes

Shield Volcanoes

Lava Domes

Submarine Volcanoes

Geologists generally group volcanoes into four main kinds—cinder cones, composite volcanoes, shield volcanoes, and lava domes.

Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

The Deadliest Volcanic EruptionsVolcanoes of the WorldEarth's Greatest Volcanic Field

More on Principal Types of Volcanoes from Infoplease:

  • Volcanoes - One of the most fascinating, if tragic, natural disasters of the last two thousand years occurred on August 24, 79 A.D. On this day, Mount Vesuvius (located near Naples, Italy) erupted, engulfing the nearby cities of Pompeii and Herculaneum in a tremendous flow of cinder, ashes, and mud.
  • volcano - volcano volcano, vents or fissures in the earth's crust through which gases, molten rock, or ...
  • Shield Volcanoes - Shield Volcanoes Shield volcanoes are built almost entirely of fluid lava flows. Flow after flow ...
  • Submarine Volcanoes - Submarine Volcanoes Submarine volcanoes and volcanic vents are common features on certain zones of ...
  • Volcano Islands: meaning and definitions - Volcano Islands: Definition and Pronunciation