|  Share | Cite

French Overseas Departments

French Guiana (including Inini)




Overseas Departments elect representatives to the national assembly, and the same administrative organization as that of continental France applies to them.

Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

Rulers of FranceFranceFrench Overseas Territories

More on French Overseas Departments from Infoplease:

  • Saint-Denis, city, Réunion - Saint-Denis Saint-Denis, city (1990 pop. 122,875), capital of the French overseas department of ...
  • Basse-Terre - Basse-Terre Basse-Terre , town (1999 pop. 12,410), on Basse-Terre Island, capital of Guadeloupe, a ...
  • French Union - French Union French Union, 1946–58, political entity established by the French constitution ...
  • France - Map of France & articles on flags, geography, history, statistics, disasters current events, and international relations.
  • West Indies - West Indies West Indies, archipelago, between North and South America, curving c.2,500 mi (4,020 ...