|  Share | Cite

The Uranian Moons

Oberon and Titania

Umbriel and Ariel



Caliban and Sycorax

New Uranian Moons Discovered

There are 27 known moons of Uranus. Ten of the moons range in size from 16 to 67 mi (26 to 108 km) in diameter and, being closer to the planet, have faster periods of revolution (8–15 hours) than their more distant relatives.

The moons names are Cordelia, Ophelia, Bianca, Cressida, Desdemona, Juliet, Portia, Rosalind, Mab, Belinda, Perdita, Puck, Cupid, Miranda, Francisco, Ariel, Umbriel, Titania, Oberon, Caliban, Stephano, Trinculo, Sycorax, Margaret, Prospero, Setebos, and Ferdinand.

Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

The Uranian RingsUranus

More on Uranian Moons from Infoplease:

  • New Uranian Moons Discovered - New Uranian Moons Discovered In Sept. 1999, Cornell University astronomers announced the discovery ...
  • Umbriel and Ariel - Umbriel and Ariel Umbriel and Ariel are roughly three-fourths the size of Oberon and Titania. ...
  • The Uranian Rings - The Uranian Rings Voyager 2 also expanded the body of information pertaining to the rings and moons ...