| Share
 

David Foster Wallace

Wallace, David Foster, 1962–2008, American writer, b. Ithaca, N.Y., grad. Amherst College (B.A., 1985), Univ. of Arizona (M.F.A., 1987). He published his comic first novel, The Broom of the System (1987), to excellent reviews, but it was his next (and last complete) novel, Infinite Jest (1996), that brought him wide notice, literary acclaim, and a MacArthur Foundation "genius grant" (1997). A vast, exuberant, and complicated work in the tradition of Pynchon and DeLillo that is both funny and sad, serious and ironic, it portrays a fractured contemporary American society obsessed with entertainment and pleasure. Wallace also wrote short stories, such as those in Girl with Curious Hair (1989) and Oblivion (2004); essays, such as those in A Supposedly Fun Thing I'll Never Do Again (1997), Consider the Lobster (2005), and the posthumously published Both Flesh and Not (2012); and nonfiction, such as Everything and More: A Compact History of Infinity (2003). He taught writing at Illinois State Univ. and Pomona College. Severely depressed at various times during his life, he committed suicide at 46. The Pale King: An Unfinished Novel (2011), with several completed chapters and selections from his working materials, is an elegiac and despairing, yet often hilarious work, filled with digressions and asides but mainly about a Midwestern IRS office, boredom, and the complexities and bureaucracies of American life.

See David Foster Wallace: The Last Interview and Other Conversations (2012) and S. J. Burn, ed., Conversations with David Foster Wallace (2012); D. Lipsky, Although of Course You End Up Becoming Yourself: A Road Trip with David Foster Wallace (2010); biography by D. T. Max (2012); studies by M. Boswell (2003) and S. Burn (2003); S. Cohen and L. Konstantinou, ed., The Legacy of David Foster Wallace (2012).

The Columbia Electronic Encyclopedia, 6th ed. Copyright © 2012, Columbia University Press. All rights reserved.

More on David Foster Wallace from Infoplease:

See more Encyclopedia articles on: American Literature: Biographies


Premium Partner Content
HighBeam Research
Documents Images and Maps Reference
(from Newspapers, Magazines, Journals, Newswires, Transcripts and Books)

Research our extensive archive of more than 80 million articles from 6,500 publications.

Additional search results provided by HighBeam Research, LLC. © Copyright 2005. All rights reserved.

24 X 7

Private Tutor

Click Here for Details
24 x 7 Tutor Availability
Unlimited Online Tutoring
1-on-1 Tutoring