| Share

Vatican City (Holy See)

Flag of Vatican City
  1. Vatican City (Holy See) Main Page
  2. Pope John Paul II Brings the Vatican Into the Modern Age
  3. Pope Benedict XVI Becomes the First to Resign in Six Centuries
Pope Benedict XVI Becomes the First to Resign in Six Centuries

On February 11, 2013, the former Cardinal Joseph Ratzinger, Pope Benedict XVI announced his retirement, becoming the first pope to do so since 1415. His retirement would begin on February 28, 2013.

He cited advancing age and a growing physical weakness as his reasons for retirement. Speaking to a small group of cardinals at the Vatican, Pope Benedict XVI said, "Before God, I have come to the certainty that my strengths, due to an advanced age, are no longer suited" for leading the Catholic Church. He has been pope since 2005.

On March 13, 2013, Cardinal Jorge Mario Bergoglio from Argentina succeeded Pope Benedict XVI and became Pope Francis I. He became the first to take the name Francis as well as the first Jesuit pope and the first from Latin America.

For a list of all the popes, see the table in Religion .

See also Encyclopedia: Vatican .
U.S. State Dept. Country Notes: Holy See

Information Please® Database, © 2013 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

1 2 3