South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands

Status: Overseas territory

Commissioner: Donald A. Lamont (1999)

Total area: 1,506 sq mi (3,903 sq km)

Population: no indigenous inhabitants

Major sources and definitions

The islands are located in the South Atlantic Ocean, east of the tip of South America, approximately 1,000 km east of the Falkland Islands, from which they are administered. In addition to South Georgia Island and the nine South Sandwich Islands, the island group includes Shag Rocks, Black Rock, Clerke Rocks, and Bird Island. A small military garrison on South Georgia withdrew in March 2001 and was replaced by a permanent group of scientists from the British Antarctic Survey.

St. HelenaOverseas Territories and Crown Dependencies of the United KingdomTurks and Caicos Islands