Flag of Norway
  1. Norway Main Page
  2. The World Wars and 20th Century Norwegian Politics
  3. Politics In the 21st Century
  4. 2011 Terrorist Attacks
  5. 2013 Parliamentary Elections Brings Shift in Leadership
2013 Parliamentary Elections Brings Shift in Leadership

On September 9, 2013, Norway held a parliamentary election. The right-of-center coalition won 96 seats, while the Red-Green incumbent government coalition kept 72 seats. The Green Party took one seat.

This was the fourth election for incumbent Prime Minister Jens Stoltenberg. He was defeated in the 2001 parliamentary election, but won in 2005 and 2009. If Stoltenberg would've won in 2013, he would have been the first prime minister in Norway's history to be elected for three consecutive terms. However, he lost and Erna Solberg, the leader of the Conservative Party, was named prime minister. Solberg took office on October 16, 2013. Solberg became Norway's second female prime minister. Gro Harlem Brundtland was the first.

See also Norwegian dependencies.
See also Encyclopedia: Norway .
U.S. State Dept. Country Notes: Norway
Statistics Norway .

1 2 3 4 5

Nigeria Countries Oman