| Share


Flag of Mongolia
  1. Mongolia Main Page
  2. Chinese-Russian Treaty
  3. Mongolian Democratic Revolution
  4. Mongolia's Economy Grows and So Does Worry Over China
  5. Elbegdorj Wins Reelection in 2013
Elbegdorj Wins Reelection in 2013

On June 26, 2013, Tsakhiagiin Elbegdorj was reelected president. He received 50.23% of the vote. Badmaanyambuugiin Bat-Erdene, the Mongolian People's Party candidate, came in second with 41.97% of the vote. Elbegdorj was inaugurated for a second term on July 10, 2013.

The day after Elbegdorj's reelection, President Obama released this statement: "President Elbegdorj has been an important leader in advancing democracy and freedom in his country and a key partner for the United States in Asia and globally. Through its impressive democratic achievements and its progress on economic liberalization, Mongolia serves as a significant example of positive reform and transformation for peoples around the world."

See also Encyclopedia: Mongolia .
U.S. State Dept. Country Notes: Mongolia

Information Please® Database, © 2013 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

1 2 3 4 5

Monaco Countries Montenegro

24 X 7

Private Tutor

Click Here for Details
24 x 7 Tutor Availability
Unlimited Online Tutoring
1-on-1 Tutoring