Flag of Guinea-Bissau
  1. Guinea-Bissau Main Page
  2. Guinea-Bissau Experiences a Series of Coups
  3. A Presidential Assassination, A Death, and A Coup
  4. José Mário Vaz Wins Presidential Election
José Mário Vaz Wins Presidential Election

José Mário Vaz took office on June 23, 2014, after securing enough votes—61.9% to Nuno Gomes Nabiam's 38.1%—during the second round of presidential voting on May 18. Domingos Simos Pereira, the leader of the African Party for the Independence of Guinea-Bissau and Cape Verde (PAIGC) was named prime minister. The U.S. State Department offered these words, "These elections offer the opportunity for comprehensive reforms to break Guinea-Bissau's cycle of corruption, and make progress on providing public services and advancing the country's development."

In August 2015, President Vaz dismissed the government, including Prime Minister Pereira. Vaz appointed former Minister of National Defense Baciro Djá as the new prime minister on August 20. However, Djá's appointment was contested by his own political party, PAIGC. His appointment also raised concerns from the Economic Community of West African States, a 15-member collective, about the president being able to substitute the role of prime minister. The following month, the Supreme Court ruled that Djá's appointment was unconstitutional. He resigned on Sept. 9.

See also Encyclopedia: Guinea-Bissau .
U.S. State Dept. Country Notes: Guinea-Bissau

1 2 3 4

Guinea Countries Guyana