| Share


Facts & Figures

Status: Overseas territory

Governor: Christina Scott (2013)

Chief Minister: Hubert Hughes (2010)

Total area: 35 sq mi (91 sq km)

Population (2014 est.): 16,086 (growth rate: 2.06%); birth rate: 12.68/1000; infant mortality rate: 3.4/1000; life expectancy: 81.2

Capital (2003 est.): The Valley, 2,000

Monetary unit: East Caribbean dollar

More Facts & Figures

Anguilla was first colonized in 1650 by English settlers from St. Christopher (St. Kitts) and has since remained a British territory. It was originally part of the West Indies Associated States as a component of the St. Kitts–Nevis-Anguilla Federation. In 1967, Anguilla declared its independence from the federation but Britain did not recognize this action. In Feb. 1969, Anguilla voted to cut all ties with Britain and become an independent republic. In March, Britain landed troops on the island and, on March 30, a truce was signed. In July 1971, Anguilla became a dependency of Britain and two months later Britain ordered the withdrawal of all its troops. A new constitution for Anguilla, effective in Feb. 1976, provided for separate administration and a government of elected representatives. The Associated State of St. Kitts–Nevis-Anguilla ended in 1980, and in 1982 a new Anguillan constitution took effect.

Over the years, Anguilla became popular as a tax haven. There were no forms of taxation, no capital gains, estate or profit taxes for corporations or individuals. However, in April 2011, Anguilla issued its first income tax, a three percent Interim Stabilisation Levy, due to a mounting deficit. On July 23, 2013, Christina Scott became governor.

See also Encyclopedia: Anguilla .
Statistics Unit www.gov.ai/statistics/

Overseas Territories and Crown Dependencies of the United Kingdom Bermuda

24 X 7

Private Tutor

Click Here for Details
24 x 7 Tutor Availability
Unlimited Online Tutoring
1-on-1 Tutoring