| Share
 

Seasons for the Northern Hemisphere, 2010

Seasons

Related Links

  • Vernal Equinox: Mar. 20, 1:32 P.M. EDT (17:32 UT*), Sun enters sign of Aries; spring begins.
  • Summer Solstice: June 21, 7:28 AM EDT (11:28 UT*), Sun enters sign of Cancer; summer begins.
  • Autumnal Equinox: Sept. 22, 11:09 P.M. EDT (03:09 UT*), Sun enters sign of Libra; fall begins.
  • Winter Solstice: Dec. 21, 6:38 PM EST (23:38 UT*), Sun enters sign of Capricorn; winter begins.

*Universal time (UT), also known as Greenwich mean time (GMT). See Astronomy for a conversion table of universal time.


Did you know?
Prior to 1979, only female names were used to name hurricanes. That year, the United States began alternating between male and female names for Atlantic hurricanes.