| Share
 

Seasons for the Northern Hemisphere, 2009

 
Seasons

Related Links

  • Vernal Equinox: Mar. 20, 7:44 a.m. EDT (11:44 UT*), Sun enters sign of Aries; spring begins.
  • Summer Solstice: June 21, 1:45 a.m. EDT (5:45 UT*), Sun enters sign of Cancer; summer begins.
  • Autumnal Equinox: Sept. 22, 5:18 p.m. EDT (21:18 UT*), Sun enters sign of Libra; fall begins.
  • Winter Solstice: Dec. 21, 12:47 p.m. EST (17:47 UT*), Sun enters sign of Capricorn; winter begins.

*Universal time (UT), also known as Greenwich mean time (GMT). See Astronomy for a conversion table of universal time.


Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

Did you know?
In addition to the phenomenon of “northern lights” (Aurora borealis) there are also the “southern lights” (Aurora australis).

24 X 7

Private Tutor

Click Here for Details
24 x 7 Tutor Availability
Unlimited Online Tutoring
1-on-1 Tutoring