|  Share | Cite

Russell Banks


Born: 28 March 1940
Birthplace: Newton, Massachusetts
Best known as: Author of The Sweet Hereafter
Russell Banks is a New England writer famous for his novels Affliction (1990) and The Sweet Hereafter (1992), both of which were made into critically-acclaimed movies. In the 1980s Banks began publishing short stories, most of which have been included in his collections Trailerpark (1981), Success Stories (1986) and The Angel on the Roof (2000). Banks's stories are often drawn from his own experiences growing up poor in New England, or from time he spent in Jamaica, and explore moral themes and personal relationships. His other novels include The Book of Jamaica (1980), Continental Drift (1985), Rule of the Bone (1996), a historical novel about abolitionist John Brown, Cloudsplitter (1998), and 2004's The Darling, a contemporary novel that takes place during Charles Taylor's rise to power in Liberia.
Extra credit:

Banks and his daughter, Caerthan Banks, appear in the film The Sweet Hereafter (1997).

Copyright © 1998-2015 by Who2?, LLC. All rights reserved.

More on Russell Banks from Infoplease:

  • Russell Banks - Biography of Russell Banks, Author of The Sweet Hereafter
  • Russell Banks - Russell Banks writer Born: 3/28/1940 Birthplace: Newton, Mass. Banks's hardscrabble ...
  • Cloudsplitter - Cloudsplitter Author: Russell Banks Publisher: Harper Flamingo Banks's ambitious portrait of ...
  • Gregory Crewdson: Brief Encounters - Starring Gregory Crewdson, Russell Banks, Rick Moody, Laurie Simmons, Melissa Harris
  • The Sweet Hereafter - Starring Ian Holm, Caerthan Banks, Sarah Polley, Tom McCamus, Gabrielle Rose