| Share

The Question:

What was the first team to win the World Series 4-games-to-0 in consecutive years?

The Answer:

The New York Yankees were the first team to sweep back-to-back World Series when it beat the Pirates in 1927 and then the Cardinals in 1928. The Yankees did it again in 1938 & 1939 and in 1998 and 1999. No team has competed in or won more World Series than the Yankees.

See our complete list of World Series results.

—The Editors

24 X 7

Private Tutor

Click Here for Details
24 x 7 Tutor Availability
Unlimited Online Tutoring
1-on-1 Tutoring
Warning: include(Mobile_Detect.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /site/html/template/www.infoplease.com/trailer.php on line 412 Warning: include(): Failed opening 'Mobile_Detect.php' for inclusion (include_path='/site/lib/vendor/pear-pear.php.net/Mail:/site/lib/vendor/pear-pear.php.net/Net_Socket:/site/lib/vendor/pear-pear.php.net/Net_SMTP:.:/site/lib:/site/vendor:/usr/share/pear:/usr/share/php:/site/html') in /site/html/template/www.infoplease.com/trailer.php on line 412